June 18th, 2024

The Honorable Kathy Hochul Governor of New York State NYS State Capitol Building Albany, NY 12224

Dear Governor Hochul:

New York has played a nation-leading role in combating the climate crisis, and we have been proud to support the passage and implementation of the Climate Leadership and Community Protection Act, as well as your recent initiatives to electrify newly constructed buildings and promote the rapid development of offshore wind.

It's imperative that New York's leadership extend to the transportation sector—the source of 28 percent of the state's climate pollution. Over your time in office, you have been a steadfast advocate for the implementation of congestion pricing, a vital policy that stands to reduce congestion, alleviate pollution in overburdened communities, and provide dedicated financial support to public transportation.

We are sorely disappointed by your sudden decision to postpone this critical policy. On behalf of the environmental organizations signed below, and the larger public, we are writing to ask you to reconsider and recommit to swift implementation of the 2019 law. After so much work has been done to secure stakeholder support and federal approvals that were years in the making, we must begin this initiative as soon as possible. We know from analysis conducted by the business community and your own transportation agencies that congestion pricing is perfectly compatible with a strong New York economy and your affordability agenda.

This decision will have significant consequences for New York, and it will reverberate nationally. Your proposed indefinite delay poses a significant risk to achieving New York's climate goals and the imperative to both reduce traffic congestion and ensure sustainable funding for more affordable and reliable transportation. We hope to meet with you soon to discuss a prompt resolution to the situation. Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Lena Moffitt, Executive Director Evergreen Action

Ben Jealous, Executive Director Sierra Club

Fred Krupp, President Environmental Defense Fund Gene Karpinski, President League of Conservation Voters

Abigail Dillen, President Earthjustice

## CC:

Karen Persichilli Keogh, Secretary to the Governor Kathryn Garcia, Director of State Operations and Infrastructure John O'Leary, Deputy Secretary for Energy and Environment Nivardo Lopez, Deputy Secretary for Transportation